

■ BRIGHT DESIGN CHALLENGE

nners

For another year, students at the College for Creative Studies in Detroit have produced some great designs showcasing the use of bright chromium. NASF has been working with the College for many years, giving design students a chance to show their skills in designing cars utilizing bright chromium. This year's challenge was to design on hybrid vehicles.

"It is important for the students to concentrate on the use of chromium in their designs, not on the car concepts," said judge and former participant in the challenge Marc Reisen, now a Product Designer with Chrysler. Marc was joined on the judging panel by a former winner of the Challenge, Chris Piscitelli, a Designer now working for GM Design and Erwin Angala, also of GM Design.

NASF Bright Design Challenge Committee members Mike Kuntz, Kuntz Electroplating Inc., Bill Saas of Taskem, Inc., and Tony Revier of Uyemura International Corporation attended the event and also served as judges. "We were impressed by the work the students did, but even more impressive is having two judges, who were former participants in the Challenge and now work in automotive design," said Mike. Bill and Tony echoed Mike's enthusiasm for the fact that," these students that we have worked with through the Challenge are now putting their training to work in real designs for the automakers. That has to be beneficial to our industry."

THE 2008 WINNERS WERE:

1st Place - Jay Uh 2nd Place - Dong Tran 3rd Place - Zack Whitaker Honorable Mention - Evan Mai

To learn more about this year's Bright Design Challenge, visit the website at www.nasf.org. P&SF



Thank You Sponsors!

1st Place - Jay Uh

Gold Sponsor (\$5,000)

Enthone, Inc.

Silver Sponsors (2,500)

Atotech USA, Inc. KCH Services Inc. MacDermid, Inc. Taskem, Inc. Univertical Corporation Uyemura International Corporation Vale Inco

Bronze Sponsors (\$1,000)

Chemprotect, Inc. Rohm and Haas Electronic Materials

2008 NASF Management Conference attendees who participated in a raffle generated \$1,000.



Erwin Angala, Marc Reisen, Chris Piscitelli, Mike Kuntz, Bill Saas, Dong Tran, Jay Uh, Zack Whitaker, Tony Revier, and instructor Huni Ito